Less is more…


Less and Less

 (“I found I had less and less to say, until finally, I became silent, and began to listen. I discovered in the silence, the voice of God.” Soren Kierkegaard)

Less is more. I’ve heard that all my life.  Now I’m beginning to understand.

Entering into a world that expects less talking and more listening, I understand better the concept of less is more.

Striving to listen and to hear above my want to speak is an internal struggle.

Sensing a voice that says “be still and hear”, not hear and respond with words, is a wonderfully freeing sensation.

Arriving at this realization, I find myself less anxious and less needing to speak.

Needless to say the world has a hard time perceiving silence as a good thing. It much prefers the noise of talking.

Deceived, it is, into thinking that if one doesn’t speak constantly, one is either stupid or dumb.

Learning in the silence to hear God’s voice shows much more intelligence that having to say something.

Enlightenment of the soul and mind come in the silence not in the clutter of the noise of this world.

Sereneness and calmness arrive in the freedom of the silence where we hear the voice of God.

Severed from the expectation of speech, we are made whole in the quietness and stillness before God.

 October 21, 2008

Leave a Reply

