I Came…


“I Came”

I came to this mountain to seek You, Lord;

Yet, I found You were already seeking me.

I came to this mountain with questions for you, Lord;

Yet, You gave me answers to questions that I had not asked, before I could ask.

I came to this mountain for rest and relaxation, Lord;

Yet, You bid me to go up higher on the trail.

I came to this mountain to be silent, Lord;

Yet, Your presence caused me to yell with praise.

I came to this mountain to feel renewed, Lord;

Yet, You showed me that Your presence does the renewing, wherever I am.

I came to this mountain with, perhaps, selfish motives, Lord;

Yet, You turned those motives around and blessed me in the turning.

I came to this mountain to climb in a physical sense, Lord;

Yet, You drew me off the trail to sit and listen and see and feel.

I came to this mountain knowing I would see human friends, Lord;

Yet, in them, I saw myself, but, more than me, I saw You.

I came to this mountain whole in some areas, broken in others, Lord;

Yet, in the wholeness and brokenness You healed, when I gave it to You.

I came to this mountain just to get away from responsibility, Lord;

Yet, You gave me a new awareness of love’s responsibility.

I came to this mountain to seek Your face, Lord;

Yet, You showed me flowers, birds, trees, rocks, rivers, friends and said, “’Tis I.”

I go from this mountain realizing my goals have been met, Lord;

Yet, I sense You saying there are still other goals ahead.

I go from this mountain, even as I came, Lord;

Yet, You bid me to come and I must follow!

The Path Continues…

Leave a Reply

