Imitating God…


I’ve heard it said that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

My imitation of God is much more that flattery, at least I hope it is more.

I’m trying to follow His command that tells me to be imitators of His Son as I live my life.

Touching the lives of others seems to be an imitation action as I see Jesus touching in more  than a physical sense to heal. He did that too, however.

Apprehension slips into my mind as I question whether my actions are simply done out of  imitation or out of the love of God that wants me to be like Him.

Teetering on the precipice of questioning my own motives, I sometimes decline to imitate, as  I know I should for fear of someone else questioning my motives.

Instead of waiting for others to question, I believe I should act in imitation on the urging of  the Spirit and allow His leadings to answer the motive question.

Nearer, drawing nearer, to God’s heart is my desire as I imitate Him.

Given this opportunity of imitating God, I feel a sense of humbleness and of hope and of  being loved-extremely loved.

Goodness and mercy shall follow me all the day of my life.” A life lived in imitating God  assures that my Shepherd will lead me along.

On and on, I press along the paths of life that God has given me to walk. He seeks me and  beckons me to come imitate Him as I walk.

Delighting in His presence each and every step is my sincerest form of imitation. Sharing that delight with others is my purpose for the imitation.

The Path Continues…

Leave a Reply

