The Empty Swing…


The Empty Swing

To see the front porch again is a treasure.

Having memories of pleasant times, I am,  just sitting and rocking and swinging.

Ethereal, in some ways, are the feelings that come to my senses as I remember.

Empty is the swing where I used sit and swing with Mom.

Moving remembrances flood the mind and heart as we would just sit and swing together, sometimes without a word being said for several minutes.

Pursuing those memories brings back feelings of a peaceful presence.

The empty swing is a powerful metaphor for life at this moment.

Year after year, now the swing will be empty since both Mom and Dad are gone on ahead.

Scenes seen from the porch swing are ever present in the flash of memory.

Wonderful times with family on the porch, some swinging, some rocking, some sitting on the porch floor, come rolling back through the recesses of my mind to visit.

I loved to swing in that swing, even when no one else was around for I could, in my mind’s eye, see family and friends gathered around.

New emotions now flood my heart as I see the empty swing; some melancholy ones, some painful ones and some joyous ones.

Gone are the people who made the swing a place of joy, but the empty swing is still a powerful ebenezer of remembrance.

 11-29-11

The Path Continues… 

2 thoughts on “The Empty Swing…

  1. This is beautiful!! Metaphorically, there is an empty swing in many, if not most people’s lives, carrying many different memories and emotions. Oh, to also experience the healing from the Lord that comes in the midst of those “empty swings”.

  2. I just like the helpful info you supply in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and test once more right here frequently. I’m relatively sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right right here! Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

