The Empty Tomb…


empty tomb

Tender, though sad, thoughts of cruelty, suffering and death flood my mind as I look in the empty tomb.

Helpless, I feel, as I remember the anguish and pain that I saw at the cross.

Empty as the tomb is my guilt for not standing up to say, “I am with Him.” It causes me to wonder at the emptiness that I see and feel.

Entering in the tomb, I sense a strange sense of peace and reassurance. He is not here. Suddenly that fact feels right and not condemnatory.

Moving from emptiness to a certain fullness, I walk out into a new light. A light that is both understanding and understood.

Pushing past the darkness and guilt of unbelief, I run to the one who is the light of the world, and the forgiver of my sin, even Jesus, the Christ!

Tender memories come now as I remember the words he said to me, “Come unto to me, all who are weary and weighed down….”

Yearning sets in as I long for the day that I will be with Him even as He is with me and to know even as I am known.

Together with Him is where I want to be, the one who made that empty tomb a “filled-up” experience.

Over all of my feelings and thoughts comes the love that resurrects and fills the empty in each of us. This resurrection that left an empty tomb, fills each of us, if we believe in the one who was resurrected.

Moving from the emptiness to the fullness is an act of confession, trust, faith and love. I am moving!

Belief, belief in the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus Christ is the only way to understand the empty tomb. I believe!!

The Path Continues… 

4 thoughts on “The Empty Tomb…

  1. “Belief, belief in the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus Christ is the only way to understand the empty tomb.”

    This is a description of the greatest miracle that has ever taken place on this planet. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

