Have You Ever Thought God was A.W.O.L.?


Gloria Scott  sunset photo Feb 2013

A.W.O.L.- Absent Without Official Leave: A term used in the United States Military to describe a soldier or other military member who has left his or her post without permission. “Absent Without Leave” is a crime in the military. It’s punishable under Article 86 of the Uniform Code of Military Justice. AWOL means not being where you are supposed to be, at the time you are supposed to be there. A military person who is AWOL for 30 days or more is administratively classified as a Deserter.

Have you ever felt that God was A.W.O.L. and that He didn’t really care about what you were going through in your life at a particular moment? How did you feel about that? What did you do about that feeling?  Did you get in God’s face and say, “where are you?”  Did you ask Him, “How long, God?” Did you, in your aloneness, call on God to come back to you?

If you have had those feelings, you are not alone.  One of the greatest leaders in the Bible had those same feelings.  In fact, he thought God was A.W.O.L. a number of times in his life.

Look at one of the so called “lament” psalms and see how David, the man after God’s own heart, handled those times in his life when he felt alone and abandoned by God.

O LORD, how long will you forget me? Forever? How long will you look the other way? How long must I struggle with anguish in my soul, with sorrow in my heart every day? How long will my enemy have the upper hand?

Turn and answer me, O LORD my God! Restore the sparkle to my eyes, or I will die. Don’t let my enemies gloat, saying, “We have defeated him!” Don’t let them rejoice at my downfall.

But I trust in your unfailing love. I will rejoice because you have rescued me. I  will sing to the LORD because he is good to me. (NLT)

Don’t be afraid to tell God how you feel about your feelings of abandonment or aloneness. David wasn’t afraid. He told God how he felt and then prayed that God would answer him and restore the light to his eyes in order that he might praise him again. And He did!!

Talk to God today in your aloneness and then you will be able to say with David, “I will sing to the Lord because He is good to me.” God is never AWOL to His children!

The Path Continues…

3 thoughts on “Have You Ever Thought God was A.W.O.L.?

Leave a Reply

